Backend Jungle: Backgrounder and Dev Setup

Yes, I am not a kid. Yes, I have experience, particularly with backend code. And yes, anything I can do is achievable.

My home rig is a Lenovo laptop with a Ryzen CPU, 32 Gb of memory and a 1 Tb SSD drive. Meat and potatoes, cost me right at $1K brand new. I don't like overly expensive development boxes. I am a Philistine, my box is Windows 10 Pro, but don't shoot me, I have Windows Desktop Linux 2 and Docker on it, too. Gotta have a real OS and shell, thank you. I also have a cheap-ass HP 23" additional monitor. It was like $129.00 as memory serves. You'll thank yourself for having that extra monitor for long coding sessions.

Myself, I've developed in everything from assembly to C++ to Java to Python, Ruby, Groovy, Scala and more. I'm also quite experienced with SQL DB's. A lot of the code I have developed has been on the backend. For whatever reason, my brain seems to enjoy building reliable and scalable backend pieces. Plus I did a stint developing network stacks, which further warped me. And yes, I can develop front end stuff just fine too.

The bottom line is I won't ask anybody to do things that can only be done on a $10,000+ pile of hardware. What I do can be done from a coffee shop virtually anywhere on the planet.

Is my level of experience also achievable? Hell yeah. You might have to ask yourself what sacrifices you're willing to make though. You will spend the early part of your career being underpaid so long as the opportunity to learn a cool new thing and stick it on your resume is there.